REBEL WITH A CAUSE
The ramblings of a man touched by God

I AM HALF WAY HOME


I heard this statement today on the radio. What a great way to look at life (and what comes after).  Sometimes life seems so hard, so difficult that I just want to “go home” to be with the Lord.  There were times in my life where my heart was so broken that I just did not want to live another day with that pain.  Each minute seemed like an hour and each day seemed endless.  I dreaded the nighttime – that quiet time alone with my thoughts.  Thoughts which brought tears. 

But I am half way home.  This year, I will be 50 so I guess I am more than half way home.  God I hope so.  I don’t want to live to be 100 unless I can still ride my Harley.

God saw me through that pain; through the nights that seemed endless; and through those quiet times I was alone with my thoughts.  I never want to relive that episode of my life again.  That pain which cut my heart into pieces.  Those tears which drenched my pillow until there was no more tears.

I look back and see that valley.  It is getting further and further from me each day.  And the road ahead is clear and bright. 

Ever driven somewhere lost in your thoughts only to arrive and question how you got there?  You don’t remember all that driving do you?

That’s how I look back at the last 18 months.  How did I get here?  How did I go from the pit of despair about my life and my future to waking every day thankful that I am deeply loved? 

How did I go from having my heart so shattered from love to being so in love that my heartbeat matches hers? 

It can only be God.  Nothing else explains it to me.

I am half way home and I want to enjoy this “downhill” side of the trip.  I want to savor each and every day as if it were my last.  I want each kiss from my wife to linger forever upon her lips and mine.  I want every embrace of my children to warm them and tell them they are loved as much as it does for me.  I want the laughter of our grandkids to bring comfort and contentment to our souls. 

And I want to walk the rest of the way home with her hand in mine. I cannot imagine any journey better than the one ahead. 

RiderforJC – A follower of Jesus Christ by the Grace of God

No Responses to “I AM HALF WAY HOME”

Leave a Reply

