REBEL WITH A CAUSE
The ramblings of a man touched by God

THE LORD OF THE IMPOSSIBLE


I love the way the Israelites has different names for God such as:

Yahweh Yireh (The Lord will provide)
Yahweh Nissi (The Lord is my Banner)
Yahweh Shalom (The Lord is Peace)
El Roi (God who sees)
Yahweh Tsidkenu (The Lord is Our Righteousness)

Their names showed the character of God in His actions with them. I always thought this was so cool.

Today, a loving friend of mine texted to my phone how God had answered a prayer in her life. At the end of the text, she said, “I praise the Lord of the Impossible”.

The Lord of the Impossible. What an awesome name for our God!!!

I have heard people refer to God as the “God of the 13th hour”, or “an On-time God”. Surely these names also fit our Loving Father.

But, the “Lord of the Impossible” stirs my soul deeply. This is whom the lost needs, this is whom the broken need, and this is whom we all need.

“No one could love me, it is impossible”
“I can’t overcome this problem, it is impossible/”
“I can’t go on, it’s too hard and it’s just impossible”
“I can’t do it, its just impossible”

Enter the Lord of the Impossible. It is God-time when we finally give up.

I love God. He never ceases to amaze me with His love, His grace and His mercy.

In the morning, O Lord, You will hear my voice,
In the morning, I will order my prayers to You and eagerly watch.
(Psalm 5:3 NASB)

Eagerly watch. David expected God to act. You do not eagerly watch unless you expect an action to occur. Many times the action David needed was “impossible”, yet David still prayed, still put it in God’s hands and still watched for God to act. No not just watch – eagerly watched!

David had seen God act on his behalf many times. He knew the character of God as witnessed in this psalm:

Return, O Lord, Rescue my soul;
Save me because of Your lovingkindness.
For there is no mention of You in death,
In Sheol who will give You thanks?
(Psalm 6:4-5 NASB)

I love the way that David leverages the attributes of God. David knew God so well that he could challenge God to rescue him. He knew God loved it when David praised Him – he knew he was made by God to offer that praise, so David stood on the attributes of God and on God’s promises.

David always expected God to act on his behalf. And so did my friend today.

And God always does. God is in the business of doing the impossible. And He does it because of His great Love for us.

The Lord of the impossible?
Yeah, I like it.

I think it makes God smile too.

Join us in praising the Lord of the impossible!!!

RiderforJC and HD – followers of Jesus Christ by the Grace of God

3 Responses to “THE LORD OF THE IMPOSSIBLE”

  1. thank you for sharing. am overwhelmed by a matter and dont seem to see an end to the situation. a timely reminder that He is the God of the Impossible and i need to bring the situation back to Him.

  2. Great Post !!- recently I wrote a post entitled Waiting for God~ Waiting on God http://sandrajo.wordpress.com/2007/12/05/waiting-for-god-waiting-on-god/

    I love the “God of the Impossible” reminds me of Luke 1:37 “For nothing is impossible with God”.

    Sandra Joseph
    Recognize & Remember
    http://www.sandrajo.wordpress.com

  3. this article is inspiring it makes you want to get closer to God. continue to witness to other. you will be blessed.


Leave a Reply

