REBEL WITH A CAUSE
The ramblings of a man touched by God

IN GOD ALONE I TRUST


I know my life has not been easy. Heck, I do not wish my life on anyone. The tears I have shed must fill kegs up in heaven – God gave up on bottles with me. The pain I have suffered would kill most men. Throw on the struggles, disappointments and broken hearts and you got this man. Warts, scars and all. (to borrow a term from a friend)

But one thing I do know. Like Job I can honestly say with full conviction and with all my heart:

“Though He slay me, yet I will trust in Him”. (Job 13:15 KJV)

My trust in God even freaks me out sometimes. With so many friends leaving my life this year, with the career changes, with the challenges of being a single dad, with the sleepless nights up with my handicapped daughter – all I can cling to is Jesus and my ruthless trust in God.

Lord – I do not know what you have in store for me. You have taken so much from me this year already, but I TRUST YOU. I trust that YOU know what is best for me.

Those I have loved are gone; those that I cared about deeply are gone.
Yet I will trust in You for Love.

What else do you require of me this year? Do I have anything else to give?
Yet I will trust in You for strength.

My children still grieve the loss of their mother,
Yet I will trust in You to heal their hearts.

Sometimes I feel that I cannot go on one more day,
Yet I will trust in You for perseverance.

My heart has been ripped apart this year,
Yet I will trust in You to put it back together once again.

My first-born son is on a dangerous path of self-destruction,
Yet I will trust in You to rescue him.

My baby boy is on his own for the first time in a strange town,
Yet I will trust in You to protect him

The new “tent making” business is starting slow,
Yet I will trust in You to provide for us.

Some “friends” have left this year,
Yet I will trust in You for fellowship.

I thank You for the friends that have remained to encourage, listen and be that brother/sister who does not judge my faults.

And I thank You for those that have left – keep Your Hand upon them and use them to Your Glory.

This verse in Job is my verse for this year – and most likely, for the rest of my time here on earth. I accept that. I have peace with that – because like Peter I can say:

“Lord, to whom shall we go? You have words of eternal life. We have believed and have come to know that You are the Holy One of God.” (John 6:68-69 NASB)

Where else can I go? Whom else can I truly trust? For 30 years, You have put your hand upon my life, your Words upon my lips and Your Spirit in my soul. Where else would I go Jesus?

You are stuck with me.

I lay down all my Isaac’s as a sacrifice. Everything and everyone I hold dear to me. You have taken so very much this year already. Now you can have the rest.

Yet I will trust in You……

RiderforJC – A follower of Jesus Christ by the Grace of God

4 Responses to “IN GOD ALONE I TRUST”

  1. Wow. I hear your pain. Yet I also hear your faith. God is good and He will see you through. I’ll be praying, brother.

  2. The way you write is so nice !
    hope you the best !!

  3. Amen. When I was younger, I used to wonder why God would put a story like Job’s in the Bible. Little did I know how much comfort could be taken from it (in my life, too). I commend you for turning in the right direction, brother. God is so, so good. Sorry for being a silent reader for so long! I thought it was finally time to comment.

  4. nice article dad. now i know where my poetic side comes from.. haha love you.


Leave a comment